Winter Olympic Games

Regarded by many as the pinnacle of achievement, the Winter Olympic Games are held every four years, the most recent taking place in Torino, Italy in February 2006: Vancouver, Canada in 2010: Sochi, Russia 2014:  

The next Games will take place in Pyeongchang, Korea in 2018.

The qualifying standard for the Winter Olympic Games is set by the International Olympic Committee, while selection of athletes is the prerogative of the Olympic Council of Ireland.

It is normal that athletes work on a 4 year programme from one Olympic Games to next.  For the 2018 Games in Korea, athletes are training in Alpine Skiing, Cross Country Skiing, Freestyle Skiing and Snowboard. 


Irish Athletes have competed at the last five Winter Olympic Games, in Nagano, Japan 1998; Salt Lake City, USA 2002; Torino, Italy 2006; Vancouver, Canada 2010; Sochi and Russia 2014.

Snowsports Olympians:

Winter Olympic Games PyeongChang 2018
Team Departs for Korea
Tess Arbez (Alpine Skiing), Pat McMillan (Alpine Skiing), Thomas Westgaard (Cross Country Skiing) Bubba Newby (Freestyle Skiing), Seamus O’Connor (Snowboard).
2014 SOCHI - Russia
Conor Lyne (Alpine Skiing), Florence Bell (Alpine Skiing), Seamus O'Connor (Snowboard), Jan Rossiter (Cross Country Skiing)

 2014 Winter Olympic Games Website

2010 VANCOUVER - Canada
Kristen McGarry (Alpine Skiing),   Shane O'Connor (Alpine Skiing)  PJ Barran (Cross Country Skiing).
2006 TURINO - Italy
Kirsten McGarry (Alpine Skiing),  Thomas Foley (Alpine Skiing),   Rory Morrish (Cross Country Skiing).
Tamsen McGary (Alpine Skiing),  Paul Schwarzacher-Joyce (Alpine Skiing),  Paul O'Connor (Cross Country Skiing)
1998 NAGANO - Japan
Paul Schwarzacher-Joyce (Alpine Skiing).



© 2020 Snowsports Association of Ireland
  • Clifton House, Fitzwilliam Street Lower, Dublin 2 
  • Phone: +353 1 6615200
  • Fax:
  • Email:


Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords
Scene. J P G  Thumbnail0